Reflection of Web-Design Course

This past spring semester at ODU (and my last one!) I took a course on Web Page and Web Site Design course. For our last assignment we are supposed to give a reflection of the course that describes the course and what we learned. So before the course began I was looking for a final class to add to my electives and came across this class. I only had a little experience in html coding and websites from back in my MySpace days.

We were required to make our own personal homepage, which can be visited at http://bfros001.zxq.net. This was my first website ever made and it was definitely not where it is now. I hadn’t had much experience with the coding so I had some plain boring green type color background. After a few weeks and assignments I gained my footing and was able to upgrade as the class went along. I think by the time the midterm came around I definitely got a good feel for my craft and it felt good seeing my work payoff. That time when you upload your website coding and you see it working online, such a relief and good feeling! Here by the way is my midterm project http://bfros001.zxq.net/midterm.html. I am really proud of how that came out. 

 

I think about the way I went about with the course and I would try to spend more time on the class. I really liked the course and I wish I would of done a little better. My school workload was a bit heavy this semester. I feel like I could’ve done better. I could see a future in web designing after taking this course. I really like the coding part. A couple weeks ago my mom asked me to make her a website for her doctorate program she is currently in. I thought it was pretty cool that I was contributing her success and progress in her program so she could get her Ph.D.

 

This course changed the way I approach websites. I find myself checking the “show page source code” a lot more. Even the more complex ones are now fascinating looking at all the coding into the websites.

 

Another aspect of the course was the online portion of it. I liked the assignments where we had to contribute to the discussion board. It kept everyone engaged in the class even with the week off from the face-to-face meetings. And the assignment critiques brought me to website that I would probably never visit in my lifetime, so I thought that was cool and useful critiquing them. It made me think about what others would think of with my websites so I ended up going back to my website and doing some self critiquing which was good for my site I believe.

 

All and all I really enjoyed this course and I thought it to be very useful for myself now and possibly in the future when pursuing a career. Coding skills I know are a good skill to have in the Information Technology field. I would recommend for everyone to take this course whether or not you’re in a related field. Web designing is fun to do and cool seeing your work on the Internet. 

Leave a Reply

